Maharashtra: Prakash Ambedkar announces list of 37 Lok Sabha candidates

venkatesh March 19, 2019

Mumbai: Dalit leader Prakash Ambedkar Friday released a list of 37 Lok Sabha candidates who will contest the upcoming polls under the banner of his new political front, dealing a blow to Congress-NCP efforts to forge a grand alliance against the BJP in the state. They will contest the next month’s polls under the banner of the VanchitBahujan Aghadi (VBA), a social coalition of Dalits and Muslims jointly formed by Ambedkar and the All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul-Muslimeen (AIMIM) led by Asaduddin Owaisi.

The list includes some constituencies in Mumbai. Interestingly, theVBA has mentioned the castes of all the candidates who figure in the list. However, the Hyderabad-based AIMIM has already announced it will not contest the Lok Sabha polls in Maharashtra, which has 48 parliamentary seats, the second highest after Uttar Pradesh’s 80.

__________________________ Read More


Share This